View RSS Feed

Crèchemania Blog

"Miniature" Crèches

Rating: 4 votes, 4.75 average.
Click on a corner of a page to see our Miniature Album. The penny provides scale.

Without Abraham Lincoln, would you know that this J.F. Schreiber miniature nativity only measures two inches high? (Flip our Miniature Album pages to see it as "Krippen 5" nativity sheet). 
For a while it seemed that all of Crechemania.com's miniature crèche lovers were concentrated in the Netherlands. But now, Annelies de Kort and Joke Louw have some American company: Crèche Enthusiast Carolyn Hobbes (known as DollieMouse on this blog) who writes from her perch overlooking the Rocky Mountains: Dear Alexis,

I'm new to Crechemania.com, and astonished to realize the abundance of paper crèches. Since I was a child, I have loved any sort of graphics in paper form. I do feel God's presence in these beautiful paper nativities.

With only three paper creches, I am so new to this I need to learn much more from all of you. And I'm planning to increase my miniature collection with Crèchemania Downloads.

I am a kid at heart, and enjoy making dioramas. I have been making tons of miniatures to go with eight-inch dolls, including a crèche that's about one-and-a-half-inches high.

"I only had one paper creche which I highly treasured for 38 years. Now that I found Crechemania.com and know they are out there, I am trying to locate and purchase more paper nativities.

"Thank you for the sculpted relief panel of the Nativity. Adding the Gregorian Chant made it a spiritual experience. I was moved to tears, it is so beautiful. Thank you for sharing."

Carolyn Loshbaugh

Thank you for writing, Carolyn. I especially loved reading that, "After punching out the figures of one paper nativity, I used a brown marker to carefully go around the perimeter edge of each figure to eliminate the white — it gives it a very rich-looking finish."

Spoken like a true CrècheManiac. That's exactly what I have always done as well.